The number of cars keep increasing, so road system should be expanded. Some people think the government should pay for it,while others think the car owners should pay for it.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the growing number of people are purchasing cars to smoothly execute their daily transportation. However, the existing circumstances strain over the dedicated highways which ultimately result public suffering. Therefore, a portion of population demands that the cost for road expansion should come from the pocket of car owners. Whereas, rest of the population force sovereign authority to pay for the road development in this regard. In spite of the bifurcation in opinions I support mostly the argument of the former view.

The fee from the four-wheeler owners is a form of compensation for their contribution to the intensification of traffic congestion in city like Dhaka which is constantly crippled with overpopulation and paucity of liveable space. The unchecked expansion in quantity of cars pressurizes city dwellers to be disowned from their house to expand the size of the roads. Charging money for highway construction thereby not only discourages people from buying private vehicles but also vacates the space for the unhindered running of public transport like buses. Apart from these advantages, the decaying number of vehicles due to the imposition of extra pay also substantiates the government’s initiative of curtailing global warming. Because, the smog, discharged by the cars contains carbon dioxide and other malicious particles that directly involve in rising global temperatures. As a consequence, these are considered as a tactic to prevent the outnumbering of cars and secure the purity of the environment.

Nevertheless, the contenders still have contradictory notions. For instance,they argue that owners of cars, who are as like as the rest of the population, are the citizens of a particular nation. They are also valid taxpayers of the country.Hence, if any renovations have been taken place in any section of the highway connectivity, then, there are a number of government assigned authorities to complete these projects. As a result, It is unethical to target a tiny figure of all the citizens and compel them to pay for the program.Moreover, the payment will lead to increase the daily expense of car owners. Consequently,the sect of the population observe degradation in their standards of living.

To conclude, although there are many standpoints in lieu of car holders, for the betterment of the whole society, the setting of sanctioning the charge on the proprietors of cars is a beneficial tool as per my observation.