The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. what are the reasons for this ?How can we encourage children to read more?

These days, the number of students spending time with reading books in their leisure time is very minimal. This essay presents the reasons associated with this downtrend and suggest relavant solutions.

There are numerous reasons in books experiencing a decrease in popularity. Firstly, the rapid evolution of entertainment technology and its invasion into household such as mobile phones, gaming devices have resulted in students having a variety of digital options to indulge in during their free time.

Furthermore, interaction with such digital devices from a very young age has resulted in children becoming almost addicted to them. Secondly, evolution of traditional books into ebooks or audibooks which are more user-friendly and cost- efficient has led to a drastic drop in sales of traditional books.

A few solutions can be explored to mitigate this situation. To begin with, compulsory reading can be introduced in academic institutions which can encourage children into reading. Likewise, reducing the time which children spend in front of screen, helps children try to find another activity as hobby instead of mobile devices. Last but not least, inspire them by reading books from very young age with their peers also one of the possible solutions which can be both interesting and effective way to make them interested in reading books.

To conclude, while there is a sharp dip in the number of students interested in leisurely reading, by implementing creative solutions and consistent motivation, we can help them to fall in love with books.