The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this?

Nowadays, the average age is rising worldwide owing to the fact that the population of senior citizens is swelling. Although this trend would bring about some negative consequences, it could have several positive effects, which both sides will discuss in this essay.

On the one hand, the fact that the proportion of the elders to younger generations is rising may have some downsides. Undoubtedly, as humans become older, their cognitive and physical performance generally declines. As a result, their efficiency as a workforce dwindles, which in turn could lead to lower production rates. Additionally, it is an undeniable fact that, in comparison with youth, the elderly people have more health problems, such as high blood pressure, diabetes, and rickets. So, considering that the number of patients with chronic diseases, the elders, is increasing, governments should allocate much more money to the health care system to treat them.

On the other hand, the elders could be considered a priceless possession for their families. Grandparents can transfer their experiences to their children and grandchildren to prevent them from making the same mistakes. Consequently, younger generations would use their time and opportunities better. Furthermore, the elders are not strong enough to help with physical work, such as gardening. They are, however, great companions for children, and it sounds rational that instead of hiring a babysitter, grandparents take care of their grandchild.

By way of conclusion, the number of individuals who are considered senior citizens is climbing all over the world. This change would be considered an economic burden on the governments because it not only increases governments’ expenditure but also reduces income level. There are some positive effects that might be beneficial for the young people to take advantage of their scopes.