The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this?

The amount of elders is rising more than in years before. Although the growth of the elders helps the continuation of the cultures, it can be detrimental to the economy and stability of the country.

Old people play an important role in cultural continuity. Indeed, They are the only source to pass down the cultural heritage to the younger generations. Cultures are crucial in society because they can be considered as old wisdom or messages from previous generations. If elderly people do not do what they do, human civilization will be thriving as we are today. In Native American culture, for example, people migrate from place to place according to the wind. This culture seems to be a strange practice passed down by old people, but it prevents soil degradation as a result.

However, increasing the number of elders can have a negative effect especially if it exceeds the number of the younger generation. As the number of old people increases, the number of youngsters who will replace the gap increases. For a country with a low birth rate, which means fewer young people than old, this is a disaster. According to the 2022 survey of the relationship between the increasing number of old people and economic stability, As the number of elderly people increases to around 10%, the economic firmness decreases to approximately 20% compared to last year.

In conclusion, the growing number of old people helps maintain the cultural heritage, yet the decrease of the economic stability is undeniable.