The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think, and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do agree or disagree this view?

Many people believe that there are some old-fashioned thinkings frequently appears in older generations’ mindset relates to attitude and the ways of living. While others also argue that these ideas are not advantageous for the younger generations’ preparation in modern life, I partly disagree with this notion due to some truths it present.

On the one hand, the argument that older people tend to have traditional ideas about the way of behaving and living is unreasonable to some extent. Firstly, older people have lived in a long-term period, and they experienced a lot of things both good and bad. As a result, they gained a variety of experiences that can make them have a fixed mindset about almost everything in their life. For example, older generations often thinks strong jobs like pilots and astronauts are likely to given for men, but in the real life, there are many practical case that proves this statement is wrong. Secondly, older people also have some social prejudices against many modern perpectives in daily life. This could be explained by the fact that women always must do the household chores instead of men in some traditional families, so they have to try under pressure greatly. Consequently, there is a increse of case relates to divorce and suicide because of not being overcome the pressure.

Despite the above-mentioned disadvantages, I believe that the older people’s traditional ideas also bring lots of positive effects to younger generations. The first reason for this is these ideas can teach us many valuable lessons to apply in our life. For example, grandparents often pass down cultural values to their offspring such as filial piety, gratitude, mutual support,… These lessons always remind us about origin, ancestor and relatives. In addition, older people frequently tell us about historic stories that may change our awareness of righteousness in the past and now. For instance, veteans often retell the important events and battles that led to the nation’s independence nowadays. Therefore, they don’t want younger people to forget the great sacrifices of our ancestors and hope us to keep striving every day. From these point of views, we can see that traditional thinkings of older generations also have many benefits to our lives, so we should select and choose suitable ideas for themselves.

In conclusion, although there are many optimistic views about traditional ideas, I partly disagree with this opinion due to the drawbacks it presents. So I contend that we need to adapt these ideas wisely and be flexible with each situation. It is advisable that we should respect the thinkings of older generation whereas we still maintain our own mindset and grow our creativity.