The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is proposed that setting more severe punishments for drivers is nowhere as efficient as other approaches to handle with the road safety. I completely disagree with the statement because pedestrians are also to blame for road accidents and stricter punishments can nurture not only resentment but also this can take away self-employment opportunities.

Road safety must be followed not only by the drivers but also by pedestrians. This is because pedestrians are no less than to blame for the incidents of transport collisions than drivers themselves. More frequently these users of the roads can cross the traffic from prohibited territories and at the red sign of traffic lights. India can be a pertinent example for the country where people, who are not driving or riding any transport, cause most of the traffic accidents according to the observations of WHO in 2021. As a result of these law disobedient foot-travelers, driving offences occur. If any penalties such as larger amount of fines, prison sentence, and annulment of driving license become stricter, this can foster resentment in drivers towards the law makes and the country law system itself. Worse if this is due to for the fault of walkers or cyclists.

Vehicles are not simple machines to provide mobility but also a tool to make the living for some drivers. With the stricter rules addressed at driving violations, drivers’ main income source can be cut. This is because many self-employed individuals are making up their living thanks to their private vehicles. Uber-taxi drivers in the western countries and delivery services offered in cars, mopeds, and bicycles can exemplify that. Particularly every sixth driver in the US labor market has held uber-taxi service at least once, and every third driver there occasionally uses their vehicles as a second income source, according to the reports of Central Bank of the US in 2023. Severe punishments therefore will not only take away these employment opportunities but also can create drivers challenges. This is seen in unaffordable high penalty fees, retake of driving tests, imprisonment sentences and annulment of driving licenses.

In conclusion, setting more serious punishments to improve road safety by charging the drivers is an unfair approach, especially when pedestrians are to blame for accidents. While drivers were still punished, this can foster resentment because their vehicles are their tools to make their living.