“The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.”

There has been an alarmingly increase in the percentage of overweight children.Especially in the western society there has been a dramatic increase in the last ten years by about 20%.There are several factors causing this and thereby resulting in a lot of issues.These are explained in the below paragraphs.

If we were to discuss the factors contributing to the increase in overweight children , the main antagonist would be fast foods and soda.The western media has advertised these so called meals in a very enticing manner.This causes temptation for the young kids and teenagers wanting to have it everyday.In some cases both the parents have to work long hours resulting in the replacement of nutritious home meal with fast food or frozen items.In addition increase in playtime of video games and decrease in physical activities have been a major factor.Reducing the hours of mandatory physical education classes if not removal of it has not helped the cause.Furthermore students living in cities don’t have many places they can go to play and only places they could meet their friends outside classes would either be in fast food chains or the arcade.

It’s high time that the parents as well the schools need to get involved.Obesity has a direct effect on the person health.Recent studies have proven the abdominal fat dramatically increases the risk of heart related issues.In other studies it shows a alarming chances of getting diabetes at a very young age.It can also effect their mood and make them sluggish, thereby having adverse effect on their studies.Soda can have a deadly effect of the young kids teeth. It increases the chances of cavity and root decay.

To sum up the main leading contributors for overweight children would be the fast foods and the uptime of gaming while there is a decline in physical activities.There are lot of health issues and its no surprise kids are getting health issues at a young age.Its not easy to make sudden changes in ones life but neither is it difficult.With the correct guidance and backing from parents, teachers and mentors one can start to lead a healthy life.