“The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.”

In the last decade, the proliferation of obesity, especially among the young, has become a troubling phenomenon in Western societies. This is mainly brought about by modern lifestyles, which are technology-based and involve the overuse of junk food, leading to a lack of physical activity and serious diseases.

This type of lifestyle is one of the main contributors to overweight. Indeed, the young generation has a great tendency to be obsessed with cutting-edge devices, which makes them addicted and sedentary as opposed to previous generations. Although this period of life is their most energetic, playing outside games like football and hide-and-seek, which help them burn off their excess calories, not only do they avoid these activities, but they also opt to immerse themselves in video games and consume processed foods from restaurants or supermarkets. For instance, fast food is so popular amongst pupils because of its flavor and ease of eating, irrespective of its health damages. As a result, modern standards of living and unhealthy diets play crucial roles in contributing to obesity at alarming rates.

In terms of impacts, this phenomenon has dire consequences: inactivity and severe illnesses. Firstly, the aforementioned aspects of today’s life trigger youngsters to be more sedentary and to stay away from movement. To elaborate, the availability of a broad range of technological advancements, especially those associated with games, makes them less physically active. Moreover, overconsumption of junk food can result in catastrophic life conditions, including stress, depression, and major diseases, which children should be more attentive to. Having diabetes or high blood pressure is a critical issue at early ages since it destroys future satisfaction and comfort. Thereby, obesity shows consequences related to physical activity and health.

In conclusion, the high rate of overweight children has become a disturbing trend, mainly caused by present-day lifestyles as they pave the way for a lack of physical activity and major diseases.