The tendency for human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion in clothes and other consumer goods. Do you agree or disagree?

The propensity to replicate sartorial as well as other consumer choices is one area where human mimicry is pronounced. Given socio-economic factors that account for this phenomenon, I fully support the view in question.

Social conformity is one powerful driver that lures millions into imitative behavior. Today, the choice of outfits is an essential element signalling one’s values, social status and culture, so to blend into a community, a person needs to imitate the lifestyle and taste in clothing of that social circle. In today’s social landscape contoured by the ever-prevalent desire to seek authenticity and uniqueness, conforming to clothing trends and the prescribed way of life may be fundamental in establishing and maintaining cohesive relationships with neighbors and friends alike. A pertinent case in point is Uzbekistan, a country where adhering to national fashion patterns provides a person with the advantage of smooth interactions and almost immediate social acceptance.

Economic gaps are another catalyst. While upper social classes are well-positioned to wear branded and luxury clothing items, cars and similar goods, ordinary people have to opt for mass produced clothes, cars, appliances and the like. This divide is a fundamental pillar of mimetic patterns among consumers, regardless of industry, country or culture. From China to the USA, the working class, let alone people below the poverty line, is attracted to identical fashion trends, such as jeans and shirts produced by Zara or H&M, for instance, because of their affordability. This is a stark contrast to the elite whose attire is more sophisticated and hence unique, with Zegna and Brunello, two high-profile clothing brands, being the primary examples.

In conclusion, because today’s architecture of fashionable consumption is shifting toward socially valorized items, as are other consumer goods, and becoming ever more expensive for ordinary people to afford, it fosters mimetic choices. For these core reasons, I completely agree with this notion.