The tendency for human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion in clothes and other consumer goods. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that people tend to copy each other due to the increasing popularity of fashion clothes and other consumer goods. I totally agree with this notion because the excessive use of social media and increased social status can be the main factors, urging such human behavior.

The overuse of social media is one reason why copying one another regarding outlook and other consumer items is effortless. As everyone posts luxurious highlights of their lives, with expensive possessions on social media, they may appear to be one of the few idealistic people in society, with constant public attention. Hence, the individuals watching such social media highlights often try to share similar outlook and own expensive consumer goods such as phones, watches and cars to become in the public eye like celebrities or social media influencers. Yet, people from low-income backgrounds often work longer hours to access these amenities, leading to health issues over the long term.

Another factor is higher social standards across many nations. People often judge each other based on their outfit and possessions in most countries, resulting in social inequality to some extent. It is becoming an obligation for people to have a car, accommodation or buy fashion designer clothes, causing too much pressure on people. Those with high income level face no challenge to access such amenities, strengthening their roles in the community whereas people from low financial status struggle. These people are often underestimated in many cultures, indicating unfair wealth distribution. Such public practices push even teenagers to earn money from a young age to secure an equal social status.

In conclusion, it is clear that individuals are constantly copying one another due to the popularity of social networking sides and growing social standards.