Freshwater has become a global problem for the world. What are the causes of it? What measures government and individual should take to resolve to the problem? Give reasons and e.g. for your answer.

The world is suffering from the burning issue of global warming, which has played a significant role in global problems. It is argued that the problem of freshwater is worsening mainly due to extensive industrialisation and deforestation. This issue can be tackled by joint efforts of the government and the citizens.

On the one hand, several factors are contributing to acute shortage of freshwater. One major cause is industrialisation. The rise in industrialisation is causing an intensive amount of freshwater consumption. For example, sectors related to thermoelectric power generation, fashion and food industry water is consumed at a high scale. Along with this the release of untreated industrial water is also affecting the fresh surface water sources that we have. The other factor is deforestation. With the rise in urbanisation the forest area is reducing at a significant rate resulting in change in rain pattern. Along with this the groundwater recharging rate is too reducing.

Nevertheless, both government and individuals can play an important role in solving this issue. From the government front heavy penalties and strict implementation of industrial norms can be great step regarding this issue. For the cleaning of water bodies plantation of water purifying plants can be another effective effort. From the individuals front supporting the government initiatives and following the norms can bring a significant change. The people can set rainwater harvesting system for groundwater recharge. The calculative consumption of freshwater will prove as a great effort make in this direction.

Conclusively it can be stated that the problem related to freshwater is arising, continuous efforts in the direction of preserving it can change the current scenario into our favor.