Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational; otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Opinion essay

Many individuals opine that children’s free time ought to be spent on much more educational activities, and it is a waste of time to spend this time otherwise. I strongly disagree with this statement as it leaves children socially awkward and causes them to hate subjects they study in their free time.

The primary reason why I would not concur with the statement mentioned above is that it causes children to become socially stiff in the future. This is because when children are constantly immersed in studying and such exhausting activities only, it prevents children from moments that they normally should experience in their age, such as making friends or playing outside. In the era when children are much more hyperactive and social than ever before, not exposing children to communicating with their peers is bound to make them less outgoing. For instance, children in the United States are often encouraged to cherish their childhood and learn to hit it off with more people as people there usually deem that it helps chidren to get along with many people in the future and be able to stand up for themselves in unpleasant situations. This is how constantly making children study in their free time can adversely affect children’s communication skills.

Another reason why I think that children’s free time should not solely consist of education is that it brings about hate in children towards the subjects they study in their free time. This is because when young children are pressured into doing something that they are not a fan of, it leaves them unsatisfied since they are not able to do activities that intrigue them more. Subsequently, that misery soon turn into hate as they start to associate the subjects they are forced to learn with danger and pressure. For example, many Indian parents are known to be rigorous, but they usually claim in many interviews and surveys that they never make their children do things they are not satisfied with and respect their interests. They often do this because they consider pressure deters them even further from the subjects they should learn, letting children decide what and when they feel they need to learn. This is how squeezing rigorous educational activities into children’s free time can distance them from the subjects they learn.

In conclusion, I disagree with the fact that children should solely do educational activities in their free time as it deprives children of improving their comminucation skills and leaves them unenthusiastic about the activities.