Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational; otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Opinion essay

It’s often said by parents that everything a child does should be educational to some degree, and even leisure must be learning. In this essay I want to explain why I disagree with this as well as give some examples.

The thing parents miss is that telling a child to simply do stuff without proper reasoning or motivation isn’t going to work. The biggest problem actually comes from peers and friends, as they are the ones who are “normal” or “average” to a child. It’s hard to explain to somebody that he has to study better if nobody around cares about their performance, therefore it seems as a totally unreasonable demand, which leads to entirely different perception, more like parents are just making you suffer rather than giving advice. When a child comes to school peers will agree with a child, as they see their lives in the same way.

Though, there is a solution to this. From a rather young age parents should find such an environment for child that would encourage him to be better and progress. For example, that can be a specialized school in a certain subject or a club. My parents have used both options, and now I am very grateful to them, as those decisions shape my mind in such a way, that not learning is not right.

To summarize, education should not be painful, and you definitely should force a child into studying. It’s much better to make it so that his peers would make it seem as an only reasonable option.