Computer are being used more and more in education. Some people say this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The cases of usage of informational technologies in studying processes are becoming more frequent recently. It is argued whether or not this is good for students’ education. While the students may lose their concentration and become easily distracted from the task, I believe integrating technologies into the educational system can significantly improve their computer skills, which are essential in the modern world.

On the one hand, apart from educational purposes, computers can be used as entertainment. This creates situations in which students may secretly scroll through media apps or install and play video games, instead of using PCs capabilities for learning. This ruins[a] the entire studying process, as scholars do not take education seriously and procrastinate more often on subjects. For example, a study in the US found that more than half said off behaviour on laptops, tablets or desktops is a major source of distraction in lessons.

On the other hand, we live in the fast-changing, informational era, full of extraordinary innovations and it is crucial to adapt to those developments. More and more jobs require their workers to acknowledge basic concepts of digital literacy, such as working with text redactors, sending emails or managing data in digital tables. Some companies fully rely on informational technologies, as their data is stored and managed in the digital format primarily. Embedding such technologies in school programs can teach young scholars those highly vital skills. For example, the 2023 analysis of millions of job postings found out that most of all of them now require digital skills.

Overall, although the use of computers in schools creates a risk of lower students’ grades and decline in the overall educational experience, the long-term benefits of digital literacy and career-readiness outweighs these drawbacks