Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational; otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Opinion essay

Some individuals believe that children’s free time should be educational, or else that is just a waste of the time. Personally, I disagree completely with this idea as too much education may lead to burnout coupled with health problems .

Studying too much without enough relaxation can cause burnout among many people. There should be free time for all children, otherwise if they do not have enough time to rest, it can lead to serious problems with their mental health. Childhood should be spent with the child’s interest and pleasure, it should not take place in a strict mode where the child has no free time and all his tasks and activities are directed only on studying. Moreover, when the child have a big amount of tasks directed on education, at one moment, the child suddenly feels the urge to stop studying. For instance, there are teenagers who studies at private schools where their classes last approximately 9 hours a day. It is really difficult to study on such a schedule. In addition, after school they do not have enough time for recreation, they should do their homework which can take about 4 hours. As a result, such a lifestyle can seriously harm both the mental and physical health of children.

Another factor is health problems which arise from study workload. More and more children are facing this problem that means, parents should pay attention on their health to avoid health troubles. Otherwise, it may lead to irreversible consequences, which means that the child will need treatment and support from a doctor. Looking at the statistics, many children have consulted a doctor with problems of the: immune system, growth retardation, scoliosis, kyphosis, etc. By creating a normal schedule and reducing the pressure of studying, children can achieve normalization of their routine and improving health. It will be the best decision and solution of this problem. Therefore, reducing educational pressure and creating a balanced conditions is crucial for protecting children’s health.

In conclusion, I believe that children should not be busy only with studies, they should have free time to relax to avoid health problems.