In many societies, social media has become the primary source of news. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Traditional newspapers and television broadcasts have become less common among people due to digital media and electronic newsletters, which are accessible online. I think the transition toward the internet has made the news go more viral; therefore, more people are willing to know what is happening in the world.

Reading online can provide many benefits, ranging from accessibility with only your phone and a network connection, affordability compared to physical newspapers, and diversity of news around the world, so you can look up the local news and explore the international news. Furthermore, in today’s world, it is hard to catch up on all the important events, especially printing and distributing them, that would be a daunting work. Therefore, electronic papers offer many conveniences that encourage more writers and reporters to cover more news.

However, despite these advantages, there are many drawbacks, such as reading more international news, which are mostly distorted due to the media’s ideology. In addition, you cannot get the same focus as when you read in a paper, because you do not have many distraction. On the other hand, phones, laptops, and computer, all are accessible to the internet and social media, so most people get distracted by reading for a couple of minutes, then switch to Instagram and so one, and they circle the same loop without taking any benefits from reading.

In my opinion, you can balance between both, but reading online is still better, considering all the drawbacks. Moreover, the technology is flawless; we humans cannot maintain our focus.