In many societies, social media has become the primary source of news. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, with the rise of social media, people have increasingly obtained news from online platforms rather than traditional news sources. Although social media has some disadvantages, I believe that its advantages outweigh the benefits offered by traditional media.

Primarily, online platforms such as Facebook, instant and twitter have become more accessible to users worldwide which has made news spread faster across networks ,however this fast growing trend can spread misinformation and unreliable content .

on the other hand , traditional news resources like newspapers, magazines have proven to be a great reliable source for news , since traditional newspapers have to undergo an extremely complex process to analyze the information being shared to ensure the authenticity is maintained and the audience understands what the truth is behind every statement.

In conclusion, although social media platforms guarantee that news travels faster despite if the information isn’t relevant or accurate unlike the traditional news sources which ensure that the news being delivered to readers is accurate and not misleading this goes to show that the disadvantages of online platforms outweigh their advantages.