In many societies, social media has become the primary source of news. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Needless to say, social media and internet has been enhanced dramatically in the contemporary world and vast majority of people use online material to get daily news. I believe that it is a really advantageous approach and would benefit mankind drastically with few minor drawbacks.

The most evident benefit of getting news online is that it would improve ecosystem noticeably. To elaborate further, when people stopped reading news paper, it would result in less sales of news paper and consequently, news paper production would decrease, which means less trees would be cut for paper production. Another vital plus point of online news is it can be accessed easily from anywhere. For instance, a survey conducted in the UK in 2017, shows that 60% of people in the UK get their news on the go while traveling, which save their time while commuting. Therefore, getting news online have really advantageous points.

On the other hand, it also have some downsides. One major drawback of getting news online is that it would minimise the habit of reading. To elucidate, people would stop reading news paper and get their daily news from social media without any effort. Another significant disadvantage of online news is people, who have hearing issues or struggle to sit infront of screen, may feel is stressfull to get access to online news.

In conclusion, though the increase in getting news online through social media have several drawbacks, I believe that it advantages are more significant and would help man kind dramatically.