“The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.”

More and more people contend that the proportion of children with excess weight in western society has increased by approximately 20% in the last decade. Therefore, I will discuss this issue in the following paragraphs.

The main reason is that children nowadays prefer fast food to traditional food. Fast foods are currently becoming a popular choice for meals because of convenience and delicious taste. However, it contains a lot of fat and may be very harmful for children. Even though parents have known these disadvantages, they permit their child to eat it regularly because of unconscious or having busy schedules. In addition, due to the developments of the world, fast-food stalls open everywhere. Thus, students can access these foods easily without the control of the parents which is the opportunity for them to develop obesity and the obesity rate will rise significantly. However, the diet of children nowadays is not sufficient too, they eat a lot of meat in one meal and make the calories redundant. This excessive consumption may be the cause of overweight in children at modern life.

The effects of this obesity issue are extremely serious. Firstly, overweight students are usually bullied by the other children at school so it may cause them trauma during adolescence, therefore, they will be afraid of going to school and their academic performance will decrease. Secondly, students with obesity are at high risk of obesity-related illnesses. Consequently, their health will be dangerous, and they can be prone to have some severe illnesses of the heart. Getting fat also decreases the ability of their movements, leading individuals to confront challenges in their daily tasks.

In conclusion, there are several causes and effects of excessive weight in children. Society and parents should have awareness and give some solutions to handle these issues.