The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the most important issue of today’s world is the sudden upsurge in the statement that the percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last decade, it can affect our health and will result in obesity in coming future. There is a widespread worry that this will lead to a myriad of concerns in the world. In this essay, I will share some of the causes like sedentary lifestyles, poor dietary habits, proliferation of screen time, family and cultural influences and effects like physical health issues, psychological issues, and poor academic performance, furthermore, I will discuss the potential solutions of these problems.

To commence with, there are multitude of causes which can disturb our physique and lead to the obesity. The most predominant one is sedentary lifestyles, nowadays people are not concerned about their manner of living, and are not focusing on the physical activities, for instance, cycling, jogging, and visiting markets by walk. Although, we are facing the problem of scarcity of appropriate jogging and cycling tracks as the government of Pakistan and countries alike, do not pay attention towards this matter, therefore children are compelled to use technology in place of physical activities. For example, if an individual reach home after a hectic schedule so, he will desire to release his stress by having some activities which can develop positive hormones like dopamine.

Moreover, poor dietary habit is also a significant factor, it can deteriorate our health. People who become habitual of overeating or consuming fast food, they ruin their health, and it will also result in numerous chronic diseases which can unfasten the prosperity of their lives. I know number of people who are not conscious about their consequences, and they are becoming obese gradually, and getting indulged in deadly diseases like heart attack, diabetes, high blood pressure and many others.

Likewise, I want to discuss another crucial element which is related to our family and culture. We are also influenced by our society and cultural nuances, especially in our food and family dynamics. We usually consume oily foods, spicy dishes, desserts, and sugary snacks which have massive negative impacts on our physical health. Without a doubt, we can overcome that issue by depreciating the sugar, oil, and spices from our traditional dishes just like Chinese and Japanese cuisine.

To conclude, in my opinion, all the individuals should concern about their way of living to avoid these death-dealing diseases, and the government of Pakistan and countries alike, should take an initiative to maintain their places conducive to physical fitness activities and educate their citizens about the positivity of being healthy to promote the prosperity, productivity, efficiency, and a positive environment in the world. It can unarguably be concluded that we can maintain our health by reducing the unhealthy ingredients from our traditional cuisines, and we should involve in sports, join fitness clubs and make them part of our lives.