The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Based on the released information, western society has seen alarming escalations of overweight children. This essay will discuss the main reasons for this trend and describe some possible effects of the problem.

A range factors are responsible for the increase of the obesity in western areas. One reason for the skyrocketing of this situation is that youngster nowadays have a tendency to the sedentary lifestyles. This is because of the development of modern technology, they are attracted to the virtual world. They allocate a large amount of time for screen- based entertainment instead of participating in sporting activities. As a result, they are becoming more lazier that is the risk of gaining weight. Another dominent factor that contributes to this situation is that, teenagers are drawn to consuming fast-food and soft-drink. This is because people have to face up with the hectic pace of life and thus fast – food is the best choice that can save lots of time. For example, parents have to send kids to school early in the morning so thay choose fast food as a breakfast for their offspring. This behavior lead to obesity disease when kids grow up.

The growing of overweight juveniles has given rise to a host of serious effects. First and foremost, having difficulty in developing social interaction is the consequence of this trend. Children who spend their whole time on technology and less time on sports can not have the chance to burn calories to lose weight and build the relationship with others. That is why the trend of obesity and loneliness has gone up. Moreover, the problem of putting on weight has some detrimental influences on children’s health such as heart- attack or diabetes. If this problem can not be unsolved, the next generation will suffer from serious illness.

In conclusion, it would not be an insurmountable problem if the reasons behind the rising of overweight children be discovered. Lacking of social interactions and fighting against illness, for example, can be the main effects.