The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the last ten years, the proportion of children living in western society having obese has risen to approximately 20%. There are some reasons why this is remarkably rising and the consequences of this problem are going to be discussed in this essay.

In terms of the reason, fast food and lack of physical activities are the main causes of the increasing obesity scale. Firstly, junk food which contains a lot of calories and fat has become more popular in the young generation nowadays. The convenient and unique taste of this kind of food attracts children to eat instead of a healthy diet with boring flavour of vegetables. However, eating junk food for a long time affects children’s health and makes them fatter. Secondly, reducing exercise because of addiction to social media or games is also a negative reason. For instance, children who spend a lot of time using smart devices thanks to the development of technology can become addicted to social media or games, hence they may stop doing exercise frequently. This unhealthy trend keeps the fat in children’s bodies and children without burning fat can become overweight.

As a result, this worrying trend can have a noticeable influence on both physical and mental health of children in the variety of age-groups. Childrens having obese can suffer from the volume of serious diseases relevant to the heart and so on. For example, obesity can lead to blood fats or especially heart disease when the cholesterol is too high. Children living with this heart problem have to take care of their blood pressure and activate slightly for the rest of their life. Not only this is inconvenient in their whole life but also teenagers have to deal with body shaming problems which may cause some mental illness like depression. The negative criticism may break teenager’s confidence.

To sum up, it is proof that there are several reasons and disadvantages that have to be addressed by outweighing children. Society is responsible for preventing this disturbing tendency and raising awareness of inhabitants about the causes and negative effects of obesity.