The problem with society today is that it is essentially unbalanced, with some people being paid huge salaries to work very long hours, whilst others do not have a job and have too much time on their hands. There is no middle ground. Do you agree or disagree?

It is said that modern society’s problem is its unbalanced profit and time distribution, where some people have jobs that may offer huger salaries in exchange for their never-ending work schedule, whilst others are practically jobless and have too much time for their own good. While it is, in fact, happening to some of the people in today’s society, I do not personally believe that it is happening to all of them.

Firstly, I believe that not every job that demand long hours of work will produce huge salaries for their workers. We can examine this by just looking at what kind of job it is and what value does that job bring to society. For example, labour-intensive jobs such as construction worker typically has long hours of worktime, despite their salary which is usually just a little bit above the minimum wage.

Secondly, as not every long hours job makes a huge amount of salary, not every short hours job produces the equivalent amount of salary. This is again due to the type and value of said job has to offer. We can see this from people whose work are related to digital technology such as software engineers or data scientists where they only the 9-to-5 working hour or even less but receives a large amount of salary due to their job value.

As for the closing statement, I do not believe that our society’s current job problem only has two situation that people would wound up in. Rather, it is a very competitive field with many sides and angles. I think when we are discussing this topic, we need to look for other aspects of the job such as the type or the value.