The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has the opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

While many people argue that increasing scientific innovations escalates the gap between the wealthy and the poor class, the other group firmly holds that these are actually diminishing the space between the two. Although it is easier and more convenient to make profit out of the usage of new inventions for the upper class, it is noteworthy that the poor are also gaining significant opportunities.

Since the financially privileged group already has the capacity to make use of various new products recently launched, they will always become the first ones to do so. For instance, when two companies are fighting for one product, the established company with higher market control will always dominate various aspects of it to deepen their value. For example, the use of new media technology to advertise and to reach the households is easier for the big one while the smaller have to face significant difficulty.

Having said that, I feel growing innovations always bring chances to each and every individuals regardless of the class to which they belong. In the past, when there were limited educational institutions, only the children of royal families were allowed to gain knowledge and insights. Even though someone had extraordinary ability to perform in scientific sector, they were not permitted to do accordingly. In recent years, people are becoming more and more aware of the importance of education through the media. Due to this we have seen many new successful personalities gaining significant reputations though they have a poor background in the past. For example many CEOs of big technological companies are not directly chosen from the higher class rather the one who is actually brilliant in their field is given the power.

To sum up, despite the fact that first movers or who have easy access always gain certain advantage in their sector, the technology has set a platform to provide equal opportunities abating the gap between the wealthy and the poor.