The rapid expansion of urban areas worldwide has led to a significant decline in green spaces, which are essential for mental and physical health. What are the primary factors contributing to this loss, and what steps can governments and individuals take to mitigate the problem?

High population in urban areas has caused a massive downward trend in areas for relaxation such as parks. The green spaces are impoertant for a person’s well being since they promote mental and physical health. The loss of green spaces can be attributed to more houses being built in urban areas to accomodate the high population in urban areas. Additionally, facillities such as hospitals and industries have also led to the decline of green spaces.

To begin with, rural urban migration causes rapid movement of people to urban areas leading to the decline of green spaces. This is because this people will need to have a roof over their heads .Due to this fact, many green spaces will be eradicated to create more room for construction of houses. For instance, a family can move to urban areas in search for employment or further studies since many jobs are in the urban areas. The family will therefore require shelter. Hence, many green spaces will be encroached into to create more spaces for housing. Additionally, more investors construct facillities such as hospitals and industries to create a conducive environment and create job opportunities for people. For example ,as people migrate to urban areas, diseases will increase and they will require medical services. This will cause a need for more hospitals. Consequently, there will be a decline in green areas since they will be eradicated for expansion of hospitals.

To avert this problem, the government should move in quickly and ensure the green spaces are protected since they are essential for physical and mental health. Firstly, the landlords who want to construct houses should be provided with alternative land to avoid destruction of green spaces. Secondly, there should be mass awareness on the importance of green spaces on physical and mental health. This will enhance understanding of the benefits of green spaces. In addition, investors should look for alternative land to construct industries to avoid destruction of green spaces. In conclusion, green spaces should be protected since they are important for physical and mental health. The government should chip in and ensure the green spaces are protected.