The rising cost and decreasing supply of fossil fuels such as oil and gas, along with environmental concerns, mean that their continued use as our main source of energy is impractical and alternative sources must be found. The only realistic alternative is nuclear energy. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Utilization of oil and gas as the main source of energy still continues despite decreasing supply of fossil along with environmental concerns and cost increment, we need to find alternative energy sources. Nuclear energy is the only realistic alternative. I disagree with this statement because nuclear energy is not the only alternative energy that we have. Nowadays so many scientists have found new alternative energy such as solar energy and hydro energy. People tend to change their electronics which usually use fuels or gas to become things which use electricity.

One of the new sources of energy which many people use recently is solar energy. Solar energy is capturing heat from the sun and converted to electricity with solar panels. In my country, some housing areas have already started to install solar panels on their house to get energy for electricity in that house. There are many other countries that also use hydro energy to trade water energy to become electricity. If 70% of the area in Indonesia is the ocean, I think we should try hydro energy as another energy source.

Because of scarcity of fuels and the rising price, people are starting to change their devices that use electricity as power supply, for example like electric cars and electric stove. Besides it is eco-friendly, the price is also affordable, low taxes, and many other benefits.

In conclusion, there are some alternative energy besides nuclear energy such as solar energy and hydro energy to replace fossil fuels. In practice, people start changing household appliances which use electricity for power supply.