The rising cost and decreasing supply of fossil fuels such as oil and gas, along with environmental concerns, mean that their continued use as our main source of energy is impractical and alternative sources must be found. The only realistic alternative is nuclear energy. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The fossil fuel supply decreases along the way since it is a non-renewable energy, this imbalance between supply and demand creates the price of fossil fuel relatively higher along the time. Furthermore, the negative impact of fossil fuel to the environment has been widespread. One alternative energy, that is renewable and affordable, is nuclear energy. However, nuclear energy has some drawbacks that are dangerous to health and society. This essay will explain the reason why it should be avoided in the future.

To begin with, nuclear energy is radioactive. People that are exposed to the nuclear plant tend to be ill due to the radioactive process. They probably have a genetic mutation, cancer, and end up with death. For instance, people in Hiroshima and Nagasaki during the nuclear bomb in World War II have had many difficulties until now due to the radiation. Most of them have a pattern of their shirt printed on their skin and others have gotten unusually ill since that time.

Another reason is that nuclear energy may create superpower countries. Countries with unlimited resources tend to develop better Research and Development of nuclear energy. Then, they potentially abuse the third country that has less power. The political and social tension not only between both countries, but also become greater due to the alliance. In the future, it leads to world war.

This essay concludes that nuclear energy has many disadvantages, due to the radiation and the potentiality leading to a world war, that should be banned for the public utilities.