The role of technology in education is becoming increasingly important. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology in the classroom.

It is an undeniable fact that technology has played an imperative role in the development of human civilisation, along with cultural changes. This essay aims to delineate the various advantages and disadvantages of technology in classroom.

First and foremost, technology allows teachers to serve the knowledge to pupils who cannot physically present in classroom. There are plethora educational institutes which promote teachers to deliver online tutorial. With the utilisation of myriad website or application, its feasible for a student to go through these tutorials on his own time. Not only technology enhances a student productivity by providing multiple websites or virtual classes, but also by saving their travelling time. Today when we talk about classroom, it doesn’t necessarily means classroom in a building, it means a room for study which can be delivered online because of advancement in technology.

Furthermore, free study resources available online helps people who have keen interest in learning something but cannot afford to pay expensive fees. In contrary, most of free resources available are not certified and therefore cannot be trusted completely. Additionally, Online classes may impact face-to-face interaction which can effect students social skills and emotional development. With the booming technology, young generation is already prone to various electronic gadgets. They prefer to allocate their time surfing internet instead of getting engaged in any physical activities. So, providing education online can lead them to a path that can affect their critical thinking.

In conclusion, technology offers multitudinous advantages. However, it is imperative to acknowledge the potential drawbacks, potentially on students’ critical thinking and emotional development.