The tendency for news reports in the media to focus on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individual and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Negative developments such as crime, natural disasters, or terrorist attacks often receive a disproportionate amount of media attention compared to positive news. This has created a concern among the public, who express that this has harmful effects on people and society as a whole. While I understand the concern, I believe it might be an overreaction.

One of the proclaimed negative effects of the media coverage of bad news is that it can create an unnecessary fear among the public. As media can have a significant impact on people’s perceptions and emotions, the constant exposure to negative news can distort the reality for many people. The recent COVID-19 pandemic showed us how vulnerable people are to negative news, even it comes from an unreliable source, as it can create panic among the population.

However, in my opinion, these perceived dangers of media focusing more on negative news are an exaggeration. Firstly, this has been going on for so long that people have come to realize focusing too much on bad news is nothing more than a media stunt. As media outlets are well aware of the intrinsic interest of people in negativity, they tend to sensationalize bad news for attention.

In addition, with the widespread adaptation of smartphones and the internet, people now have a greater control over what news they consume. Some mobile apps and websites allow users to subscribe to specific topics of interest and follow more credible sources. This ability of people to filter news goes to show that they are not as adversely affected by the reports of negative news as some people make it out to be.

In conclusion, the concern regarding the effects of bad news on the media mainly stems from the argument that it can lead to reality distortion. However, this seems to me an overstatement as people now possess awareness of tactics used by the mainstream media and they also have more control over their news consumption.