The tendency of news reporters in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The media causes more harm to the general public by focusing on problems and emergencies as opposed to the great achievements of the society. This essay argues strongly that the media does more harm to the public because they can trigger personal anxiety, and cause public tension as well.

One of the major harms the media can cause is the triggering of anxiety in individuals through the focus on problems in news reports. Many people suffer from various mental health concern, and the more these individuals listen to devastating news, the more triggered they become in their level of anxiety. There have been reports of people collapsing on hearing, or reading certain information on the Internet. For instance, patients suffering from depression are unable to cope with the news report of accidents, or deaths , which can affect the level of their mood.

Another point is that the news being spread by the media can cause public tension in the society. Whenever there is an unverified information being released by news outlets, this might cause riots, destruction of life and properties. In addition to this, it could cause a shutdown of the government until they are able to control the news. In some African countries, for example, the release of certain news information by the media can lead to an unrest in the state, which can eventually lead to war.

In conclusion, I agree that the harm caused by news outlet through the focus on problems and emergencies can trigger personal anxiety and cause public unrest in the society.