The tendency of working for retirement wages. ADvantages and disadvantages.

Nowadays, many older people work for their retirement wages. Retirement ages have been rising in many countries. Personally, I am in favor of the viewpoint that the retirement age should depend on personal health conditions. This essay will shed light on the advantages and disadvantages of this issue.

One significant benefit of basing retirement age on older years is that older people are able to earn more money for their retirement wages. It means they can afford expensive tours to travel around the world or afford their wages to pay for their basic needs for the rest of their time. Furthermore, they can be more productive and more physically active in the workplace. For instance, if a person is productive in his or her older years, he or she can live longer and earn more money.

On the other hand, having a retirement plan in the last decades or years of one’s life can mean having no more energy to do their work. It means they are more likely to have health problems by putting more pressure on their immune systems; subsequently, they can develop serious health problems, such as diabetes and cancer. For example, studies at U.S. universities, have shown that people who retired at age 70 had more health problems and felt more jet-lagged after working for 2–3 hours, whereas some of their peers who retired at 63 enjoyed a healthy lifestyle. Moreover, they will not have enough time to rest. Or their last breath could be in their workplace.

In summary, in this essay, I can say that the disadvantages of increasing the retirement age outweigh the advantages due to the fact that it mostly depends on personal health conditions. I believe that the government should add an age to the retirement plan and take steps to address their health problems.