The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the last decades, the film industry based in the US have shown their solid influence through other countries. Many people are worried and believes that the government should support their own filmmaking in order the country’s culture. While the US’s influency on the film industry has been somewhat positive to encourage people on this field, I agree with governments providing financial help to their own film industry as it could enhance their culture.

how us film influence can affect other countries / Main point is: one side believe that government must invest on their own film industry in order to proctec their cultures from the US influency

First and foremost, even though the US film industry have served as great reference for films, their influence is proving to be detrimental to other countries, as they undermined other great film projects. This is clear because movies made in the US are extremely popular and have created a solid trust in their product that people forget other countries’ films. For instance, in Brazil’s cinemas, there is a significant disparity when showing US-based movies in comparison with independent films from Brasilians. This trend is negatively affecting the exposure of many independent films that have great potential.

Furthermore, with the US film industry having great influence not only in the people, but specially in the market; productions and investors do not support local films. This situation could be drastically change with support of the governement. For example, Peru’s government had been promoting the DAFO’s finnacial supporting programme for independent filmmakers to maintain and encourage artistic culture in the film industry. As a result, this great measure have promoted the Peruvian movie Yana Wara that won just recently a prize at an international movie festival. Support from the government can be effective and change the future landscape of culture and movies.

In summary, with the great influence from US film industry, people believe that the government should support their own film industry to protect their culture. The US influence on other countries has shown detrimental effects on the promotion of other independent films. Furthermore, with finnacial support from governements, different country’s film industry can be improved. In my view, I believe this actions should be taken further and put restriction on cinemas in order to promote more independent films.