The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media, such as Facebook and Twitter, have replaced the form of relationship in daily life. Initially, it was only a face-to-face contact but now people do not need to be in one place to communicate with each other. It is well-reasoned why the benefits of social media surpass the demerits, and this essay will deliberately elaborate on the reasons.

To begin with, the first merit of social media is that they provide a more effective way to communicate between humans. People nowadays is able form a communication with their friends anywhere and anytime. For instance, a person in Indonesia can call an American in Facebook with no need to worry about the cost that has to be paid or the distance. Moreover, social media has its way to spread informations dramatically fast, such as novel inventions or world wide topics. Twitter, for example, is a platform which is updated in seconds to inform its users hot news or gossips and broadened their horizons.

Although social media steal community reliance and decrease the need to straightforwardly in contact with others, this issue can be prevented by campaigns on the importance of direct communication. Furthermore, with screens merely an inch from people’s fingertips, not only do they make their own campaign but they also can share it to their friends without much effort. Lastly, relationships between community can be built through social media contact which can be accessed all the time by anyone.

In conclusion, the advantages of social media (Twitter and Facebook) are outweigh the drawbacks due to the fact that they can be mitigated by campaigns on social media. The benefits of this issue are far more advantageous for a prosperous future such as an effective communication and updated informations