The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Technological development provided more convinient life for a great number of individuals. It become possible to find friends and even a significant other from another side of the Earth. Social media platforms, such as Twitter and Facebook appear to reaplace person-to-person contact for a numerous netizens. Nevertheless, it is feared that digital space may pose a threat for users, as it could exert a substantial impact on communication capacities of humanity. This essay aims to observe both viewoints.

To begin with, social media is an advantageous tool that can facilitate everyday existence. People might make friends and aqcuaintances from the other continents while being home. It is said that numerous internet users even found the love of their life throughout web forums. Furthermore, it may be the greatest option for introverts or individuals with social anxiety as it assume to be more comfortable zone for the conversation.

On the other hand, some are afraid that these platforms are dangerous as people might lose the capability of communication. There is a possibility that spending a wide amount of time on the internet might influence humans to become less social and more closed. It consequently could rearrange the way individuals socialize. Moreover, frequent online presence might provoke many mental diseases like anxiety or panic attacks as it directly contributes the brain work.

To summurize all of the above, social media invention have brought a considerable impact on how the society is currently structured. A wide range of individuals found the usage of them valuable and beneficial. However, some still have apprehensions towards exessive utilization as they might be detrimental for the future communication and mental sustainability of human beings. Therefore, it is vital to find balance and conciously treat the time being online.