The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Much has been debated about how social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter have deeply infiltrated everyone’s life and are speculated to alter face-to-face connections. Although having certain advantageous aspects, I wholeheartedly concur that it can be detrimental in the long run.

Advocates of the prominence of social networks in daily communication cite various reasons for their stance. They pinpoint that the media serves as a potential tool to maintain global connections with friends and family and expand social circles, irrespective of geographical distance. For instance, people can now get updated with the latest news across the globe as well as receive both international and domestic interactions on Facebook or Twitter. Additionally, interactive media also enhances access to information and knowledge sharing, with the inclusion of numerous charge-free livestreaming classes on these services.

Conversely, social networking websites replacing face-to-face connections can profoundly hinder people’s social skills and mental health as well. Initially, the virtual nature of internet forums can lead to a sense of isolation and superficiality in relationships. This, in turn, can hardly express people’s genuine emotional connections, non-verbal cues and deeper understanding in speeches. Therefore, it can result in a plummet in meaningful interpersonal relationships, impeding efficacious communication. Besides, the overuse of these platforms can then have underlying effects on health, such as increased stress, anxiety and loneliness.

In conclusion, I firmly acknowledge that although social media does wonders for long-distance connections, it can also offer adverse effects on actual relationships and mental well-being.