The use of social media may replace face-to-face contact. Do advantages of the development outweigh its disadvantages?

In-person meetings are likely to be omitted due to the increasing presence of social platforms. This essay aims to elaborate on both sides of this development and explain why the assessment of this trend should hinge on each age bracket.

On the one hand, networking sites create an environment conducive to expanding human connections. While most people only interact with familiar individuals in their living areas and workplaces, social communication tools afford them opportunities to connect with people possessing similar pursuits and interests from different regions and backgrounds. Forming diverse collaborative relationships is indeed (valuable for their professional trajectory – nên có thêm giải thích về ý này) and provides them with multifaceted perspectives on life.

On the other hand, the emergence of online communications poses potential risks of frauds. Since the identities of social network users are unverified, people might encounter scammers, possibly leading to financial losses and unwanted debts. Not to mention that their personal information can be exploited by hackers for bad purposes, such as identity theft and unauthorized access to sensitive data.

Considering the aforementioned advantages and disadvantages, I firmly believe that this development is more beneficial for young individuals. With their adaptive capacities, they can easily master technology, derive numerous benefits from the huge sources of data on the Internet, and seek profound relationships, while simultaneously remaining vigilant against potential risks (câu này em nên tách thành 2 câu). This, however, doesn’t extend to the elderly, who lack familiarity with technology, as they are likely to be exposed to misleading information and become easy targets for phishing.

In summary, I argue that the impact of social media varies across different age groups. While younger individuals can reap advantages from such development, older people are not suitable for this, as they are vulnerable to internet crimes.