The use of social media may replace face-to-face contact. Do advantages of the development outweigh its disadvantages?

In a very fast developing world, the face-to-face contact may be replaced by social media. This essay will delve deeper on both sides of this tendency and explain why I am convinced that this trend is indeed disadvantageous.

While it is true that social media helps people save time when contacting, it is important to acknowledge the potential drawback. For instance, many social media platforms such as Facebook and Discord allow people contacting via phone call or video call, making communication more convenient because the moving time is emitted. However, these types of contact require internet, which is inaccessible for many people in the world. In addition to this, the Wi-fi connection sometimes can be interrupted, making conversations not run smoothly. These two drawbacks make people spend more time when communicating.

Meanwhile, this trend holds two significant demerits. The foremost concern is that people can fake their identification when contacting. With the advent of AI technologies, a lot of AI platforms such as Deepfake help people fake their face, and it is one of the reasons why the number of online frauds is increasing dramatically nowadays. The second shortcoming is that if people contact via social media regularly, their health can be affected. While face-to-face contact requires people to go outside, social media makes people stay at home, so they can be sedentary if they use social media most of the time.

In conclusion, I argue that this tendency’s drawbacks outweigh its benefits. While social media can save time if people need to communicate, the conversations can be unreliable and people’s health can be worse.