The use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

In large part of cities, security measures, like number of usage cameras in public places grew, to decline number of crimes. One group of people think that actions like that restrict individual freedom. However, positive sides overweight the negative ones.

Firstly, it really helped make area in big cities safer. Because more of the criminal cases could be proved and had evidences. For example, in traffic accidents opportunity of rewatch the video of them, help police find the person to committed it or find a reason.

In addition, these cameras help see the appearance of murder or pickpocket. Consequently, more of individuals who want to commit something like that, was scared to be noticed and have not done their plots.

On the other hand, large part of citizens does not want to be spied. Bigger part of them do not plan something criminal. Furthermore, a lot of materials usually are uploaded for public access. It also can be negative or positive side and depends on situation. For example, when government try to find someone this videos can help to do that. Because if someone see for example murderer who was on the video in real live, he or she could call to police previously and save own or someone’s life. But if look from another perspective, they also can mistake someone and make situation worse, or add more panic in society.

To conclude, in most cases it helps to provide evidences, find criminal or warn citizens. Evenif it has disadvantages too, it is more positive development.