The use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

There is an increasing trend of using video cameras in public places to reduce crime, whereas some people reckon these will restrict individual freedom. This essay will examine the reasons why there are more benefits than drawbacks.

From my perspective, there are two types of benefits. One major benefit of this phenomenon is that the number of thieves will sharply decrease in the future. For instance, there might be a place without electronic monitors. A thief is preparing to steal from a car while a passerby is recording a video at the same time. Fortunately, he records the entire process thoroughly. It will be easy for the police to catch the thief and provide strong evidence. Examples like this happen everywhere nowadays.

Another important benefit is that it can protect people themselves from crime. Most criminals feel afraid when they see a camera, such as a sports camera. Many people on the internet say it is a body-worn camera, though it is just a prank. In short, video is indeed a useful tool to reduce crime.

In terms of the drawbacks, they do exist but are far fewer than the benefits. A small percentage of people think they are troubled by the cameras because their faces and movements are recorded, which they do not want others to see. They not only feel unnatural but also feel very nervous in front of cameras. If they want to deal with such problems, there is a very simple way. They just need to be themselves and pay no attention to the cameras everywhere.

To sum up, the benefits of video recording outweigh the drawbacks in many different fields.