The use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

In various cities, camera’s are being used in public areas to reduce the violence. However, few individual argues that it will reduce our personal freedom. From my prespective the advanatage of using camera in city areas, undoubtly overshadow the disadvantages.

On the one hand, few individual claims that the use of camera in busy areas is essential because it will help to detect the fault and crimes which ultimately simplify the investigation process. This is advantageous for government and the victims since modern cameras are built with motion tracking, night vision and alarm sensors, which will help to identify the criminal instantly. For instance, more than 50 cameras are being installed in Chitwan, Nepal which has aid the traffic as well as police to investigate the crimes.

Another advantage worth mentioning is that video surveillance will also help in controlling road accidents specially in major cities where everyone has to deal with high traffic congestion and over speed during rush hours, as modern video cameras can easily spot over speed vehicles. This strategy will solve the issue of high speed thus control road accidents.

However, despite advantages there is also disadvantage of cameras since it will limit the personal space because some individuals does not like being on TV or in any big screens. This is a drawback for those who only gets freedom outside their home. For instance, Thailand media once publicised tourists drinking and smoking while covering road accident report through CCTV footage. This shows that sometime an individual can be unintentionally caught on road cameras while having quality time, which may have some negative impact on their lives.

To finalize, although there is a drawback of video cameras in public places as it limits personal space, I think the positives including simplified crime detection, reduced road violence and accidents, outnumber the negatives.