The benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that tourism is significant financial and cultural advantages to the country. I completely agree with this statement because tourism industry supports local businesses and also improve cultural understanding among diverse population. This essay will outline the main reasons for this viewpoint.

To begin with, tourists support and promote local businesses which in turn increases employment rate. For instance, when an international or domestic travelers visit a historical monument they spend money on accommodation, restaurants and public transport. This is beneficial for locals as it creates jobs in hospitality, transportation and service sectors. Additionally, tax collected from the foreign tourist increases revenue that can be spent to improve infrastructure of the city.

On the other hand, tourism plays a crucial role in preserving cultural heritage and when international travelers visit an historical site the rich culture gets a global recognition. For example, thousands of people visit Taj Mahal in India as it is one of the seven wonders of the world and purchase local handicraft from local artisans and souvenirs as memories. This not only provide livelihood for artists but also keep traditions alive and shares it in the rest of the world. Furthermore, interaction between distinct cultures breaks down cultural stereotypes, making it an inclusive society.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that tourism makes a significant contribution towards the economic condition of a country by creating jobs and exploring and understanding different cultures creates a profound positive impact on the society by promoting unity and mutual respect.