The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that some people prefer working weeks to be shorter and weekend to be longer. I completely agree with this statement. I will explain the reasons in the following paragraph.

First of all, a person usually has to work from 9 AM to 5 PM, 8 hours daily in their respective job. That means most of the time of their day is spent working in their offices. Eight hours of non-stop hard work makes their brain and body dull and tired. They can not think of anything else without rest. When they get back to their home, they can not enjoy their free time with family members. Furthermore, they have to prepare for the next day. For instance, a person working the whole day without any gap can not recover easily. He/she needs a proper time to relax. Only one or two days in the week can not make a person stable for 8 hours of work for the rest of the week.

Secondly, when they get a larger weekend, they can refresh their minds, enjoy a quiet peaceful environment, having quality time with their families. They don’t have to be tensed for the next days. On the top of that, they will feel energetic for the next days of the week for work that will obviously have better outcomes. For example, a person who loves his/her works and the process can do better than others as he/she dedicates himself/herself for that work to be done.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that workers should enjoy a little extended time period for weekend and work less than usual to get much obvious results in their respective professions.