The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. DO you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that employers should have more days off by cutting down on working days. Personally, I totally agree with this statement for the advantages such an approach may bring about, including increased productivity and improved workers’ well-being.

To commence with, not only does an extended weekend have a positive effect on workers’ mental and physical health but also efficiency at work. Firstly, reducing working hours can boost productivity. Longer weekends allow staff members to rest and recuperate from work-related stress and fatigue, resulting in employees returning to work feeling more refreshed and having sufficient energy, which enhances their work performance. Secondly, prolonged periods away from work enable staff to spend more time on other recreational activities. For example, workers can have more time allotted to either doing sports that strengthen their physical health or spending quality time with their loved ones that promotes their mental wellness. As a result, employees can experience greater job satisfaction and achieve a better balance between their work and personal lives.

Some people would assert that working longer hours can help employees to earn higher salaries. However, I believe that such reasoning is somewhat flawed. More time at work means that people have to spend more money on commuting to work, such as fuel expense and electricity cost. Moreover, extended working time can result in increased stress, fatigue, and health problems such as cardiovascular issues and musculoskeletal disorders, prompting employees to invest more in therapy and medical treatments. Therefore, despite the opportunity for increased earnings, a considerable portion of that money could end up being allocated to undesirable and preventable expenditures.

In conclusion, I believe that it is advisable for companies to facilitate longer breaks for workers in order to yield the most productive working outcomes.