There has been a huge increase in the size of cities. Many cities have grown in a haphazard way. What are the causes of this trend? What problems does this lead to?

Today, there is a trend of expansion in city space; however, it has been widened in a haphazard way. This essay will provide several causes, as well as discuss some problems with this trend.

It is factual that the development in cities’ sizes could be caused by population growth and transportation improvements. To begin with, the number of inhabitants goes up at a startling pace, leading to a demand for accommodations and services. These amenities, which are spontaneously enlarged, can become uncontrollable and chaotic. Moreover, road networks and highways have to be steadily designed to meet people’s commuting needs. Modernizing transport infrastructure, as well as connecting neighborhoods, leads to a demand for a larger extent. It is evident that Ha Noi has merged its vicinities to become bigger to meet the needs of housing estates and improved infrastructure.

The expansion of cities’ sizes can pose dangerous threats to the environment and economic disparities. Environmentally, the startling scale and pace of urban development can result in the loss of green spaces, as well as increased pollution, which impacts local ecosystems and communities’ health. For example, Hanoi’s high population density has led to a surge in the number of vehicles. Correspondingly, new roads and highways are constructed to accommodate this growth, which has contributed to pollution, habitat destruction, and higher carbon emissions, leading to a detrimental impact on the environment. Regarding economic disparities, the enlargement of several specific urban areas, while some others may be left behind, exacerbates issues of poverty and unemployment in certain urban districts. Thus, the differences between urban and rural areas, which relate to education levels, living standards and healthcare, leads to many problems in society and even higher levels of crime.

In conclusion, population growth and transportation development are triggers for the increase in cities’ sizes, and this trend can have many deleterious effects on environmental issues and the economic gap.