There have been many inventions in the human history, such as the wheel. Some people think the most important thing is the internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Human history is rich in ingenious inventions that have had a profound impact on our lives, transforming many aspects ranging from communication to medicine to education. Nevertheless, it is believed by some people that by far the most crucial among them has been the creation of the internet. While this invention has been making a huge difference in our lives since its introduction, considering it as the most important product of human ingenuity is flawed, for there are many other more vital inventions.

We should of course acknowledge the transforming effects of the internet on the way we live. Perhaps the greatest merit of the world wide web is communication, allowing people to stay in touch with one another no matter distance, time and location. This, in turn, clears doubts about moving abroad for studying/working purposes, since this invention reduces feelings of homesickness, loneliness and isolation thanks to video calls and the possibility of sharing media on social media platforms like Telegram. Another positive associated with it is education opportunities provided for everyone. People in the most faraway areas of the world, given access to computers/smartphones and the internet, can gain knowledge, as online platforms like YouTube and apps like Zoom have eased transmission of information. This has been particularly evident in the recent COVID-19 lockdown, when confinement to home didn’t hinder people’s willingness to acquire knowledge and earn degrees, but rather it served as an invaluable tool facilitating education.

Crucial as the internet may seem, I would argue that it isn’t as important as inventions that are valuable to save human lives. A widespread yet underrated example is syringes used for a variety of medical purposes. Were it not for them, we wouldn’t be able to save human lives, as injecting vaccines or any other drugs would be impossible. It is only thanks to this small invention that physicians are able to treat patients suffering from various illnesses. Additionally, and arguably most significantly, electricity is the most important invention, since it is at the forefront of most activities we are involved in. Without electricity, home appliances, medical apparatus, electronic devices and even the internet itself would be unable to function. This, in effect, underscores that fact that people’s lives are heavily reliant on electricity, especially for lighting and heating, without which it is difficult to imagine life.

In conclusion, the internet plays an essential part in our lives, especially in communication and education. However, deeming it as the most indispensable invention in human history is not sensible, because I believe that other inventions, such as the syringe and the electricity, are more significant for human survival.