There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the removal of non-academic subjects will boost the students concentration to succeed academically in the academic classes. This essay agrees that the extracurricular subjects should not be removed as it doesn’t affect the students’ performance. By doing such action, schools will be the main source of their mental problems for students and it will take part in limiting their creativity.

Exposing teenagers to a constant academic subjects will leave them with mental problem as stress, anxiety and depression. School for youth at that age is a place to socialize, and spend time with friends. Giving them an overload of assignments and exams of specific subjects as math and physics and depriving them from social activities will put them under pressure, make them question their intelligence, and build a low self-esteem around their excellent classmates. It has been recently surveyed in Saida School that students are over pressured by the academic subjects and suggest to implement non-academic subjects in the curriculum.

Moreover, limitation of creativity is a serious consequence of the displacement of practical classes. Removal of such activities will take away students’ passion, creativity, and eagerness to experience new things as they will be brainwashed to think in a strategic, logical way that suits the academic subjects. It is greatly known that these youth are the leaders of our future which will lack of creativity if such action has been taken. AIESEC organization believes according to their studies that having creative and logical leaders balance in taking decisions for the future.

In conclusion, the removal of non-academic subjects will not help students to succeed academically, in the contrary it will cause mental problems and creates uncreative minds. It is recommended for the government to make their teaching style more interesting for the students and create a helping sessions for those who needs.