There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage for couples who decide to do this.

Nowadays, married couples prefer to remain childless. Although there are some benefits as career development and more personal time, there are also some drawbacks as difficulty fitting in with peer groups and high risk of loneliness in old age.

One of the most obvious merit of being child-free couple is that there is more time left for a career. Upbringing a child takes a lot of time and effort so often there is no time left to focus on career. Another notable benefit is that parenting takes all free time. Parenting is a full-time job in which there is no time left for parents self, while couples with no kids have enough time for themselves. For example, some couples without children have enough time to socialize, whereas parents do not have this privilege.

One distinct disadvantage of not having kids for couples is that some can struggle with hanging with friends as most of them have children. Most of the married couples with little ones prefer to spend time with other couples that have children as well. Moreover, there is a high chance to be alone in old age. Children are the ones who will take care of their parents when they are old as their parents did the same for them when they were little. For example, the majority of people who are in care homes do not have any offsprings.

In conclusion, although choosing to be child-free offers career advancement and more personal time there are also significant drawbacks as suffering in socializing with peers and risk to be alone in old age