There is an increasing trend around the world towards having a small family rather than a large family. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people tend to have a small family instead of a big family. In this essay, I will explain why the benefits of having a small family overshadow the drawbacks.

On the one hand, having a small family can pose some drawbacks. Firstly, the child can easily feel neglected. The reason is because the child has no one to talk to and play with since they are the only child. This can result in the child feeling alone and becoming an individualistic person. Secondly, the child has less freedom. This is because of the parents overprotectiveness and high wish on their only child that leads to them unable to grow mentally and stress to meet their parents expectations.

On the other hand, having a small family can bring more benefits. Firstly, it can reduce their living costs mainly because the fewer people in the family, the less money needed to be spent. This can lead to more savings that can be used for education, food, and other everyday life stuff. In other words, they can have a much more steady life. Secondly, it will be much easier to organize. With fewer children, the parents are less likely to get overwhelmed taking care of their children and house chores at the same time. Parents can take care of their child much easier and involve directly in their growth, which leads to them being more aware of their academic and non academic needs. They can also form a much stronger emotional bond with their child.

In conclusion, while I think that having a small family can lead to the child feeling lonely and trapped, I feel like it is much beneficial in terms of money usage and family bonding that lead to a simpler and happier life. Therefore, I remain convinced that it brings more benefits than the drawbacks.