There is too much noise in many public places in cities. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

People often complain about noise pollution in public places in cities. While this can be attributed to increased levels of traffic in cities and construction, encouraging people to use public transportation and relocating urban developments can alleviate the problem.

One major driver of noise pollution in public places is the sheer number of private cars. This is because many people opt for such vehicles because of the comfort they provide: they are fast, convenient, and allow people to travel wherever they want. Alternative options, such as buses, mini buses, and subways are often overcrowded and not so well maintained. Overpopulation is another contributory factor. In recent years, rural-to-urban migration has increased, which resulted in an increased demand for housing. In order to meet this demand, a large scale of construction is taking place in urban centers, leading to excessive noise levels.

However, there are many steps that can be taken to address the problem. Firstly, people should be encouraged to rely on public transportation rather than private cars. If there were more frequent public transport, with improved comfort for passengers, they would be more likely to take those modes of transports. As a result, noise generated by private cars would be reduced. Another effective solution is to move constructions to other areas. When these developments are relocated away from densely-populated areas of the city, such as the outskirts, this can drastically reduce the amount of noise in city centers.

In conclusion, the main reasons behind the increased noise in cities are the traffic and construction but investment in public transportation and relocation of some developments can resolve the issue.