There is too much noise in many public places in cities. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve the problem?

As cities are becoming crowded and excessively urbanised the amount of noise they produce is starting to distract many of their inhabitants. Even parks and green areas no longer serve their purpose as quiet places. Although it may seem that the problem cannot be solved, there are a number of measures that can help in decreasing noise levels in urbanised areas.

One of the most prevalent reasons for increased noise in cities is their overcrowded nature, which is becoming, even more, the case as time progresses. According to surveys, the Earth’s population in the 21st century is increasing at twice the rate of the previous century. This is causing the construction of more apartments and houses in metropolises to accommodate residents. Moreover, as a popular and convenient spot for living, capitals are increasingly driving people from rural areas, further increasing their overcrowdedness. As a result of this high concentration of population, noise pollution is becoming more common even in public places.

While expelling people to rural areas cannot be considered, there are other more ethical solutions to this problem. For example, cities can create noise-free areas in the form of parks and fields, which are equipped with special banners and signs promoting calm behaviour. These places would serve as a perfect environment for those citizens who want to spend time alone or with their families. Another more expensive solution would be to improve rural areas to encourage people to stay in their hometowns. Although doing so requires a high level of authority and financial resources, this would be the most effective solution in making cities less overcrowded, which consequently leads to decreased levels of noise.

In a nutshell, due to the high concentration of population, cities will always be exposed to more noise than rural areas. However, certain measures, such as opening noise-free spaces and creating more facilities in rural areas can help to mitigate the problem.